Unit 7 Composing music post 2

Down the line

This song was originally wrote on an acoustic guitar with about three random chords that i could just about sing a decent melody to. It started as a slow sad melancholic tune as i had written the lyrics about a fall out i had had with a very close friend. The words to me are very meaningful as it was me putting everything I was feeling at that time down on paper.

A few weeks later i went to a ‘Shadow Cats’ rehearsal as we had been asked to play a recorded set for BBC introducing Hereford and Worcester; we  didn’t have enough songs so we had to start writing some more and i already had these lyrics to use.

 

Lyrics:
Who am I any more feel like a lost who I was
like you stole a part of my soul
And I’m finding it hard so hard to let go

N’ I should never have wasted my precious time but down the line I know I’ll be just fine

Funny how things just change
And love gets lost through a haze of hate
And I don’t know I don’t know I don’t want to feel this way
You crossed the line and now I find I’m picking up the pieces of my.. Broken..

And I should never have wasted my precious time but down the line I know I’ll be just fine

It’s been so many days
Time flies and still not a trace
I can’t help but feel it’s all been such a waste
Theres just something missing you’ve left an empty space

N’ I should never have wasted my precious time but down the line I know I’ll be just fine

No I should never have wasted my precious time for down the line I know We’ll be just fine

When I originally wrote these lyrics the last verse and last chorus were not part of it. After a Long time not being in touch with the person I wrote the song about we resolved the situation and I put the last verse and last chorus in to show how the situation had been resolved as it had come from true events as it was almost closure for me as well as the song.

we decided that the song was good enough and that we could develop it and record it and use it as a song for our other band ‘Swallows’.

And this is the finished product…

Leave a Reply

